What is this?

Discuss anything news-worthy from the area.

Moderators: Moderator, Administrator

Post Reply
Conrail713
Veteran
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:19 pm
Location: Northwest Fort Wayne

What is this?

Post by Conrail713 » Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:19 pm

I caught this on the way home at East Wayne. What is it and what does it do?

Thank you,

Ross
Attachments
miss me 143.jpg

J HALL
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:30 am

Re: What is this?

Post by J HALL » Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:00 pm

It is a track stabilizer. It used at the end of a tie/or surface gang to stabilize the track by exerting the force of a train on the track/and roadbed. When they use this machine, you don't have to have the first train walk over the track at 10mph, the second at 20mph etc.

Jeff Hall

getridofintersttruck
Veteran
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:44 am

Re: What is this?

Post by getridofintersttruck » Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:17 pm

Appears I wasn't the only one curious lol. I also saw and photographed it.
Image
Norfolk Southern surprise in Ft Wayne Terminal by alittlevanwerty, on Flickr
Also caught a GP38AC in a 4 loco lineup heading to Chicago.
Image
Norfolk Southern 2844 GP38AC by alittlevanwerty, on Flickr

Video at:
http://youtu.be/gLkhFF48brs

h2466
Veteran
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 6:27 pm
Location: On the Border

Re: What is this?

Post by h2466 » Sun Nov 04, 2012 5:48 pm

Great pics guys. I like those old mow cars, were else can you find a old rivited flat car with the aci plate on it. Thanks for sharing, Ken 8)

D.L.
Veteran
Posts: 862
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:29 pm

Re: What is this?

Post by D.L. » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:11 pm

:D You Tube vid was GREAAAAT! :mrgreen:

User avatar
CIOR
Veteran
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: What is this?

Post by CIOR » Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:18 pm

Bob J. caught it on the L82 in Muncie coming from the Progress Rail plant.
I've been told the narrow gauge track and other gauges have been installed now at Progress Rail, so its possible it worked there and is being sent to other locations.
The C&O of Indiana
www.candoindiana.com

getridofintersttruck
Veteran
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:44 am

Re: What is this?

Post by getridofintersttruck » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:57 pm

D.L. wrote::D You Tube vid was GREAAAAT! :mrgreen:
Thanks!

Post Reply