Another technological advancement for FWA Railfan

Scanners, HAM's, ATCS, Streaming Audio, Mobile Rigs, and anything else tech.

Moderators: Moderator, Administrator

Post Reply
User avatar
Greg46m
Site Admin
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Bryan, OH
Contact:

Another technological advancement for FWA Railfan

Post by Greg46m » Mon Jan 29, 2007 5:11 pm

FWARailfan.net has partnered up with Railroad Radio.net to finally bring our live audio feed into the big-time. Unfortunitely in the process of getting started up our server setup lost a vital componet, the Griffin iMic that feeds the stereo channel audio into the sever. This has resulted in the feed being temporarily broadcast in mono without the secondary channels. Hopefully by the end of the week a replacement stereo input device will be in place to give listeners the full quality and excitement of the Ft Wayne feed that veteran listeners are used to. In the meantime I hope everyone has a chance to check out our feed and continue to listen in once the stereo, dual receiver component is reinstated.

For anyone wondering, you can continue to listen-in to the feed just as you have been, this is just another outlet for our audio. If I start getting squeezed on bandwidth though I will shut down the current address and you'll have to go through Railroad Radio.net. Please check out their site if you havn't already, there are a lot of good quality streams available for you to listen to out there. The Alabama Railfan feed is the one that got me started on mine and helped with ideas.
Greg Lavoie - Webmaster

Ed Mosser
Veteran
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:49 pm
Location: Valparaiso, In

Post by Ed Mosser » Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:45 pm

Greg:

I listened to the RailroadRadio net this winter. I found the Fostoria feed really entertaining.

Last week I checked back in again and found they had updated the website and lo and behold...there was the Ft. Wayne feed.

Needless to say, I dont listen to Fostoria much anymore, I have FtWayne on the computer and local NW Indiana on my three scanners here in the house. Kinda neat hearing a train thru Valpo and then three hours later work thru Ft Wayne.

Great work on everything.
ed

User avatar
rrnut282
Veteran
Posts: 1847
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:43 am
Location: M.P. CF161.8 NS's New Castle District

Post by rrnut282 » Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:46 am

Ed,
Three hours later? What fantasy trains are you listening to?? :roll:

Greg,
Without the benfit of seeing the territory firsthand, it is hard to appreciate what is going on. So I just leave it on the FWA feed almost all of the time. Thanks for keeping the office from being boring. 8)
rrnut282
(Mike)

User avatar
Greg46m
Site Admin
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Bryan, OH
Contact:

Post by Greg46m » Tue Apr 10, 2007 12:53 pm

Yea, I tend to agree with you on that one Mike, it is hard to get interested if you don't know the territory. I don't even listen to Fostoria and I've been there a few times.

And I can kinda simpathize with you on the boring office situation. Since I got my audio working on my computer here in my office I listen to the feed all the time too. People walking down the hall look at me funny when a dispatcher call tone comes over the radio...or they walkin here and start talking to me. Then this voice over a radio starts coming over and they think it's my hotel motorola and they get rather confused asking "Who the hell is that talking?"

Next month I'll be moving into a 2 story house off of Spring St. ATCS coverage over there is much better (yes, way before getting the house I sat out front in the truck with ATCS running to check it out) so I'll get that up and running sometime next month as well. The audio will probably be down for at least a day while I move. I'll have 2-3 weeks to get moved so I'll wait to move the audio until closer to the end of the month. Look for ATCS to come online shortly thereafter.
Greg Lavoie - Webmaster

User avatar
rrnut282
Veteran
Posts: 1847
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:43 am
Location: M.P. CF161.8 NS's New Castle District

Post by rrnut282 » Tue Apr 10, 2007 3:27 pm

Gee, I wonder if the boss would notice this new program on my computer that takes up a lot of bandwidth and causes my eyes to glaze over while watching the blinking lights. :roll: :twisted:

p.s. I always reach up and turn down the volume whenever I see someone "not in the know" coming or answer the phone.
rrnut282
(Mike)

User avatar
Greg46m
Site Admin
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Bryan, OH
Contact:

Post by Greg46m » Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:14 pm

Ditto.

Actually the audio takes about 10X the amount of bandwidth that ATCS does...But the boss might not see it that way. :)
Greg Lavoie - Webmaster

User avatar
Michael Meisener
Moderator
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:32 pm
Location: 1/4 mile east of the Perch

Post by Michael Meisener » Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:40 am

Greg46m wrote: Next month I'll be moving into a 2 story house off of Spring St. ATCS coverage over there is much better (yes, way before getting the house I sat out front in the truck with ATCS running to check it out) so I'll get that up and running sometime next month as well. The audio will probably be down for at least a day while I move. I'll have 2-3 weeks to get moved so I'll wait to move the audio until closer to the end of the month. Look for ATCS to come online shortly thereafter.
2-3 weeks to get moved? Do you need any help to get moved sooner?

Rob
Veteran
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:41 pm
Location: Warsaw area
Contact:

ATCS

Post by Rob » Sat Apr 14, 2007 8:06 pm

What all did you get on the portable ATCS setup there?
I would guess Junction, Runnion, Hadley, Sand and Hill??
And if lucky Mike and Hugo?
And hoping for the ones further east?
I know you said once but i think you were busy the day we talked.
Rob

User avatar
Greg46m
Site Admin
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Bryan, OH
Contact:

Post by Greg46m » Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:53 am

I think those were all of them Rob. However my server setup will have a 900mhz antenna mounted up much higher than my truck roof so I expect reception to improve.

Nah, not really Mike. Thats how long I HAVE to get moved, I doubt it'll take me that long. But I'll wait until later in the month to move the audio server equipment.
Greg Lavoie - Webmaster

D.L.
Veteran
Posts: 823
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:29 pm

Find somethin better to do

Post by D.L. » Sun Apr 15, 2007 4:51 pm

Greg, thanks for getting rid of that porno spam. I appreciate your efforts at keeping this board "family friendly". Maybe someday w/all this hi-tech gadgetry, you'll be able to prevent these idiots from posting it alltogether.

Post Reply