FWA Audio & ATCS outage

For information reguarding updates to the FWARailfan Website and forums

Moderators: Moderator, Administrator

Post Reply
User avatar
Greg46m
Site Admin
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Bryan, OH
Contact:

FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by Greg46m » Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:15 pm

Group,

I just wanted to inform everyone that as of 9am this morning the audio and ATCS feeds will be unavailable until further notice. A large tree limb took out my electrical service and AEP's best estimate for getting me back on was mid-Sunday. For now I'm using a generator to power my furnace and other essentials but unfortunately the server isn't on that list. The audio is available by going to http://www.railroadradio.net and looking for the Ft Wayne feed under the eastern time zone. The ATCS though is pretty much dead for now as the only aggregator is here at my house.

I'll post an update as soon as everything else is back up and running.

-Greg
Greg Lavoie - Webmaster

Chris7092
Veteran
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:50 am

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by Chris7092 » Sat Dec 20, 2008 9:10 am

I guess we were spared most of the trouble up here on the north side. Our power was off for a while during work on Friday, but was back on by the time we got home. Greg give me a call if you run out of juice and you start go get cold!

Chris
K8CRQ

User avatar
Greg46m
Site Admin
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Bryan, OH
Contact:

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by Greg46m » Sat Dec 20, 2008 1:44 pm

Thanks Chris, I'll let you know. Verizon came by last night and got my fiber strung back up and running for me so at least I have TV and internet now :)
Greg Lavoie - Webmaster

User avatar
Greg46m
Site Admin
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Bryan, OH
Contact:

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by Greg46m » Sat Dec 20, 2008 10:44 pm

Everything is back to normal now, audio and ATCS data are flowing like they should. Power got turned back on around 7:30 tonight. Thanks to everyone for their patience. I hope everyone else thats out in the dark gets their power back on soon as well.
Greg Lavoie - Webmaster

User avatar
rrnut282
Veteran
Posts: 1972
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:43 am
Location: M.P. CF161.8 NS's New Castle District

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by rrnut282 » Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:54 am

I'm getting an error this morning on the audio feed.
rrnut282
(Mike)

Ibflattop
Veteran
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 10:04 am
Location: Ft.Wayne

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by Ibflattop » Mon Dec 22, 2008 2:09 pm

it was working but its out now. Kevin
Move west!!!!!!!
"Slack on the Pin!!!!!!"
"CIOR Engineer "takin up both mains and a siding" and not called E.O.T., called " Running on Markers" !!!!!!!!!!!

User avatar
Greg46m
Site Admin
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Bryan, OH
Contact:

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by Greg46m » Mon Dec 22, 2008 4:34 pm

Seems to be fine now at 1730 guys. Earlier today around lunch time the host's internet line went down for awhile. When I went to investigate I found that a power flucuation caused the UPS power supply to cut out and didn't restore itself for some reason. This unit powers the T1 modem, routers, firewalls, switches, etc for the entire hotel. It was out for maybe an hour or so before anyone told me about it.
Greg Lavoie - Webmaster

User avatar
rrnut282
Veteran
Posts: 1972
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:43 am
Location: M.P. CF161.8 NS's New Castle District

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by rrnut282 » Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:09 am

Ahh, its working again. I can tolerate the cubicle again. thx
rrnut282
(Mike)

User avatar
scorpionskate
Regular
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: New Haven, IN
Contact:

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by scorpionskate » Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:26 pm

I can't seem to get anything on ATCS from Fort Wayne. Everything else works fine, just no FW!

tjohnson
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:29 am

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by tjohnson » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:40 pm

I'm glad it's not just me. I just got ACTS and was not sure if I had added Ft. wayne correctly.

Rob
Veteran
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:41 pm
Location: Warsaw area
Contact:

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by Rob » Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:15 pm

Heeh,I'm up in Elkhart working on decoding and layout for cp 421(and the whole area), and was trying to show the museum director at the NYC museum how gregs server covered Ft. Wayne so well :)
Rob

User avatar
Greg46m
Site Admin
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Bryan, OH
Contact:

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by Greg46m » Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:55 pm

Thanks for the heads up guys. I was playing on the server the other night and turned a firewall on. For whatever reason it'd didn't start blocking ATCS right away until after I got off the server. It's fixed now though.
Greg Lavoie - Webmaster

User avatar
scorpionskate
Regular
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: New Haven, IN
Contact:

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by scorpionskate » Thu Apr 16, 2009 3:27 pm

Are you working on the server again? The Fort is out again!

hfr49
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by hfr49 » Fri Apr 17, 2009 6:05 pm

Group,

I'm new here and have only been using the ATCS for 2 weeks. Quite impressed! However yesterday late morning (4/17/09) the FW system ceased to respond. Evidently the link is down. Is it me or others experiencing this too? Hope it comes up soon as this is quite enjoyable!

User avatar
Greg46m
Site Admin
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Bryan, OH
Contact:

Re: FWA Audio & ATCS outage

Post by Greg46m » Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:17 am

Sorry guys, I havn't been around the computer all weekend so I didn't notice it was out. The server restarted somehow on it's own and ATCS doesn't start back up unless I log in. Feel free to email me directly if you notice such outages again. I usually check my email more often than I get on the board anymore. My email is on one of the icons on here.

Thanks for the heads up.
Greg Lavoie - Webmaster

Post Reply